Getting a Chair

Posted: January 12, 2011 in Graduation

There’s been some degree of tension in working on this project because of the uncertainty involved.  Of course utilizing new (or more appropriately modern) technology in a famously stubborn and archaic medium is one, but on a practical level I still haven’t found my committee to approve of this project.  In order for my project to move forward, I need a project committee, composed of professors from the departement to approve my choices.  While I’ve been able to assemble the three necessary people, I need someone to act as the committee’s chairperson.  This person carries the bulk of the workload with me in planning and evaluating  my choices.  It’s a big task and to ask it of a professor is asking a big favor.  It feels like you’re asking someone to the prom, except there’s little dancing and a lot of paperwork.

I’m hoping that today I will find out if a professor I’ve asked to chair my project will agree.  This would be a huge relief for me and not only a validation of my project, but an official moment that I can finally say I’ve started the process.

Things are crossed for luck on this day.

Leave a Reply

