Professional Versus Student

Posted: January 23, 2011 in Acting

For my presentation I am faced with a dilemma.  I’m going to need actors to demonstrate the various technologies I want to introduce to the theatre world.  My choices are audition actors from the CSUN theatre department, call on some of my professional actor friends for a favor or a combination of the two.

Casting CSUN actors feels like the collegial, earnest choice.  Give the younger generation a chance to show off what they are already familiar with while they get to work with an actor who’s been acting linger than they’ve been alive.  As a  bonus, they know where the theatre is and could probably attend more rehearsals.

On the other hand, using my professional friends means that I don’t have to worry about the quality of acting.  These are world class improvisers and actors and they will only enhance the final product with their brilliance.  I probably won’t get them to more than 2 or 3 rehearsals at the most, but they won’t need it.  By using them I instantly make my show better.

At first I was leaning toward using students.  There is nothing that can prove a concept better than it working with people who aren’t experts at it.  That’s not a slight, it’s just an observation that these actors are students who are learning the craft.  But after thinking about it more, I realized that with all the technology I’m juggling during the show, I can’t worry about a 18 year old actor struggling with their lines.  I need to have some parts of my presentation locked down solid.

So I think I’m taking the low road and getting high level talent.  If the internet goes down, they will be my back-up generators of comedy and entertainment.

Leave a Reply

